All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a School Board. The Board is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. The Board is the employer of all staff in the school, is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction in consultation with parents, staff and students, and ensuring that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. Boards are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.
The St Joseph’s Hāwera School Board is made up of proprietors’ representatives and parent elected members. The parent elected members are elected by the parent community.  The proprietors’ representatives are appointed by the Bishop of the Diocese of Palmerston North. The Principal is also a member of the School Board. The Board can also co-opt additional members.
Our school has 10 members comprising of 3 Proprietors’ Reps, 5 Parent Elected Reps, the Principal and a Staff Rep. To contact the School Board please email the Board secretary Myra Taylor  and state School Board business in the message by-line.

Our Board Members:

Presiding Member – Andrew Hurley
Proprietors Representatives – Anita Jordan, Ricson Torres, John Wyatt
Board Members – Sumen Sahani, Mark Hughson, Julie Buijtendijk, Andrew Tippett
Principal – Tracey Drought
Staff Rep – Robbie Bird